Does having MFP friends really help?

Options
All,

While I am not new to MFP, I am new to the "community" aspect of it. For years I never even knew there were boards. Anyway, I am curious what people's feelings are on the benefits of having MFP friends. Does the added support, motivation and accountability help? As I am always looking for an edge and fearing that next plateau, I thought I would look into it.

Thank you and friend me if you think it will help us both!

Ted

Replies

• MissMormie
    MissMormie Posts: 359 Member
    Options
    It helps some people. Some people don't need the help of a online group of friends so much, either because they've got supportive friends, or because they don't have much problems sticking to the program. If you've been going for years, without much problems, I'm guessing you're not the type of person that needs MFP friends. Doesn't mean you shouldn't have any, just that they might not help you that much.
  • PlunderBunneh
    PlunderBunneh Posts: 1,705 Member
    Options
    Yep, and challenges are really helpful too. If I know I'm coming up on a rough weekend, I can ask my buddies to make sure I close my diary every day, and they will. It's great motivation to keep on track for me :)
  • RawVeganFlirt
    RawVeganFlirt Posts: 189 Member
    Options
    it definitely does ! add me if youd like i update constantly :)
  • McLifterPants
    McLifterPants Posts: 457 Member
    Options
    Building a network on here has honestly been my #2 motivation in my fitness journey (#1 being my fiance, who lives with me and makes me get up in the morning to go to the gym even if I bite him for it). The interaction of having friends who applaud you when you do well and reassure you when you screw up is super helpful. Also, I love the crowd-sourcing of information when I have a question; everyone is going through (more or less) the same thing, so often my friends can answer questions for me when I need help figuring out my next move!