How do I eat up to my calorie limits?

Options
Hi! I'm new to this app. If you read my about me you'll see it's been quite a journey. I've only been on this app for two days so my food tracking doesn't show much of a complete story. The trouble I've been having is getting enough calories in. I do not have an eating disorder but I do believe my metabolism is completely shot from having had the Lap-Band. As I no longer have the lap-band and can now eat more than the 800-1000 calories I was averaging when I had it.. I'm finding it hard to eat "clean" and get up to the calorie goals that MFP has set for me. I'm a big girl 5'9.5" and I flucuate between 215 and 220 since I got married in March of 2011. I prefer to follow a modified "South Beach" style eating plan as one of the side affects of my birth control "Apri" is insulin resistance. My youngest step-daughter is a type 1 diabetic so it also helps her when I don't eat things that she can't have as well. I know this is a ramble but between all the fresh veggies and lean protein, I'm finding it hard to get to 1700-1800 calories and I'm sort of scared to try as I absolutley do not want to go back to 305lbs. What am I doing wrong and what are some ideas for some meals/snacks to help me out here?
The sugar levels that MFP has tracked seem way off to me considering I do not eat anything with added sugar and all of the sugar/carbs i eat are naturally occuring in foods that are "south Beach" approved. I'm so confused.

Replies

• bna8112b
    Options
    also, it doesn't help that when I went to my doctor to talk to him about this sudden weight gain after I got married and to test my thyroid, his response was "you just got married, it happens to everyone, you're thyroid is fine, eat less and move more." at the time I was already eatting1300-1500 calories and exercising 3-4 times a week. So very encouraging.
  • TrimAnew
    TrimAnew Posts: 127 Member
    Options