Running in new shoes. foot pain - adaptive or not?

Options
meerkat70
meerkat70 Posts: 4,616 Member
I decided to try out some mizuno inspire shoes - I usually run in Brooks Ravennas (and sometimes Adrenalines). The mizunos were cheaper and cuter, and you can get a women's shoe in my enormous foot size (I run in a man's shoe in brooks....)

I got a dull ache along the outside of my foot from running in them, getting worse as the run continued. I only ran three miles, got home, took the shoes off, and all pain quickly subsided.

I googled around and can't decide whether this is just an adaptation to the support of the new shoe that will go if I persist with the shoe, or whether I should chuck these ones in and stick with brooks? Thoughts appreciated.

Replies

• SueGremlin
    SueGremlin Posts: 1,066 Member
    Options
    I am no expert, but a focused area of foot pain isn't something I'd consider normal. Especially since it went away when you took your shoes off. I don't think they fit you right. I wear Asics shoes and they have been perfect since the day I took them out of the box. No break-in and no sore spots. I think that is the way running shoes are supposed to be.
  • Dave198lbs
    Dave198lbs Posts: 8,810 Member
    Options
    The mizunos were cheaper and cuter,
  • meerkat70
    Options
    The mizunos were cheaper and cuter,

I know it's vain. And I'm not normally turned by such things. I just fancied the idea of cute shoes for a change, instead of my black functional ones.... :-)

That said, when I say mizuno's are 'cheaper', they're far from being a 'cheap shoe' - they're still a top range running shoe, with a good reputation.
  • ashleyjoy80
    Options