Weigh-ins daily or weekly?

Options
Hello all! I am new to MFP and have a question. Do you weigh-in daily or weekly and why?

I am 24 years old and 5'6". I never was really skinny in high school (I don't really know how much I weighed, perhaps 170 lbs?). In college I slowly bumped up to 220 (perhaps more but I never weighed myself). When I started grad school I said things have to change. I lost about 25 pounds and honestly didn't really try my hardest to do it. I weighed myself every morning. I know that weight can fluctuate based on certain factors, so I wouldn't get too down on myself if I gained a little or didn't lose as much as I had hoped. I stayed pretty positive I felt. But when I finished grad school I got back into bad habits and I gained most of the 25 pounds I had lost.
January 2012: Again, getting on myself I decided things needed to change and within a few about 3-4 months I had lost about 20 pounds again. Then I moved... and put on about 15 of the 20 again.

So... here I am now. Starting over (for the 3rd or 4th time) but really getting serious...

I guess I didn't need to both explaining all of that, so I am just curious... what do you do? Weekly or daily? Or something else?
Feel free to add me too. I am LOVING the encouragement I have gotten on this website in the first week and love supporting those around me!

Thanks for your responses!

Replies

• mkeen77
    mkeen77 Posts: 32
    Options
    I guess I should have mentioned that I can be an anxious/overly-excited individual... so it is really hard to NOT step on the scale literally every time I walk into the bathroom. It's has become a compulsive habit....
  • pastryari
    pastryari Posts: 8,646 Member
    Options
    When I first started I weighed myself all the time. I only recorded weekly weigh-ins but I was stepping on the scale almost every day.