Calorie Confusion

Options
I have my daily activity set to 'lightly active' since I'm a teacher and stand/walk all day. It says that I burn 2200ish calories in normal daily activity, so it sets my daily calorie target around 1200 to have the 1000 calorie deficit needed for a 2 lb. loss each week.

However, I wore my HRM all day today, and from getting dressed at about 6:00 until dinner time (6:30), I've already burned 3000+ calories. This has been a normal day, I haven't worked out yet, so nothing out of the normal daily grind.

I plan to continue to wear the HRM daily at least to see if this trend continues. If it does, should I adjust my calories accordingly? I don't want to inadvertently put my body into starvation mode by burning too much compared to what I'm eating...

PS-I already played with changing the level of daily activity, and even for 'very active' it had a normal daily burn of 2800 calories, I think.

Any opinion/advice is appreciated.

Thanks!

Replies

• mamaturner
    mamaturner Posts: 2,533 Member
    Options
    Seeing that your HRM is more accurate I would "listen" to it. But I don't think it would hurt to wear it a few more times to get an average of your calories burned, then adjust MFP to that!!
  • kellygirl5538
    kellygirl5538 Posts: 597 Member
    Options
    I think you are putting too much into it. You should change your settings to one pound a week. Relax, work out, eat our calories and you will loose.........:)
  • tlblood
    tlblood Posts: 473 Member
    Options
    I think you are putting too much into it. You should change your settings to one pound a week. Relax, work out, eat our calories and you will loose.........:)

Normally I'd be fine with 1 lb. per week, but we're going on a cruise this summer, so I'm trying to reach my goal by then. Whatever I lose will be fine, but I'm trying my best to meet a goal.
  • mvl1014
    mvl1014 Posts: 531
    Options