Food Scale?

Options
Any body use a food scale to measure out portions, If so what brand and where did you get it and has it helped with your weight lose. Been thinking about getting one but im kinda on the fence on this, Thanks for your input :smile:

Replies

• sydnisd183
    sydnisd183 Posts: 247 Member
    Options
    i got a general analog scale from walmart for about $5 and i've been using it for the past 5+ years or so. it gets the job done just fine. i do want to graduate to the $20 digital scale that you can put the empty plate on and zero out....hm maybe i can ask for that as one of my Christmas presents lol
  • 126siany
    126siany Posts: 1,386 Member
    Options
    Yes, I have this one: http://www.amazon.com/EatSmart-Precision-Digital-Kitchen-Silver/dp/B001N07KUE/ref=pd_sim_hpc_2

Got it at amazon.com.

I think it really helps, yes. You know that your portions are recorded accurately. You'll seriously be shocked at how different the portions are when you weight them vs. measuring them. Sometimes it's a good surprise and you get a larger portion, and sometimes it's a really, really bad surprise.

When you have a lot to lose, you can get away without one for quite a long time. But as you get closer to goal and those deficits get smaller, it becomes very important to be accurate. If you're down to a 250 calorie deficit, being 50 calories off with every meal and snack means you have NO deficit!

It's also invaluable for recipes. When I cook something, I weigh the entire recipe and then divide it into portions using the scale.
  • rnhoppe
    rnhoppe Posts: 111 Member
    Options
    I have a really nice digital scale. It displays in oz, grams, lbs, etc) I think it was $18.00 at Walmart. Got it last month.
  • crmason88
    Options