Can anyone suggest a good HRM?

Options
Looking to purchase a HRM. Right now I just use a pedometer on my iPhone and I've found it to be accurate but a PITA to keep on me when I exercise. I'm new to HRMs and just wondering what is a good make and brand? Price is not a concern if under $300.

Thanks!

Replies

• omma_to_3
    omma_to_3 Posts: 3,265 Member
    Options
    Are you looking only for an HRM, or would a GPS/HRM combo be better? If you run or walk outside that might be very useful.
  • LadyIvysMom
    LadyIvysMom Posts: 391 Member
    Options
    One with a GPS would be great but I'd consider one without also.

I just want something to accurately calculate calories burned.
  • omma_to_3
    Options
    For just counting calories, I'd say a Polar FT60. It's an upgrade over the basic Polar models and includes a fitness test for more accurate calorie burn.

For a GPS, I would pick the Polar RC3 GPS, which is at the top of your budget. I haven't used it, but it's on my want list LOL. The RS300X looks good too, and is slightly less expensive.
  • lmbigsby
    Options
    I just bought one by Bowflex from Big 5 Sporting goods, got a great deal $50 regular $130. My biggest recommendation is to make sure you get one with a chest strap as well. The ones that are just a watch aren't very accurate and the Sportline that I had before required you to constantly check your heartrate which was very hard when running.
  • gpstrucker
    gpstrucker Posts: 930 Member
    Options
    I really like my Nike+ GPS Sport Watch. The usb connector is built into the band so need for an additional device to sync it. It also recharges the battery using the same usb connector so no need to keep buying batteries.

It was a little bit of a pain to locate a brick and mortar store that carries the Polar Nike+ heart rate sensor but I found one in a running store. They can also be ordered online.
  • Factory_Reset
    Factory_Reset Posts: 1,651 Member
    Options