Student needing help in the kitchen!

Options
I am currently a student, on a student budget.
It would be much appreciated if you could all send me some simple,
easy and most of all healthy recipes that could fit into a fairly small budget?

:D

Replies

• amp187
    amp187 Posts: 374
    Options
    I really recommend just buying chicken breasts for cheap in bulk, and tons of cheap frozen veggies. Takes max 20 minutes to go from frozen to a ready dinner. It's healthy, fresh, and if you season it correctly, delicious.

All you have to do is defrost the chicken. Season it to taste, I tend to use a lot of Tony Chachere's throw it on a skillet, med-high heat maybe 5 mins each side. Steam the veggies while you're cooking and you're done in no time.
  • Voncreepy2
    Voncreepy2 Posts: 1,450 Member
    Options
    Have you checked the recipes on here? There are a lot of good ones to choose from. You might look through and see what fits your budget. And the calories are already figured and ready to be logged to boot!
  • jonielena
    Options
    I'm a student too! On a ridiculously tight budget! I make lots of soups - they freeze well, are super easy to make, and one big batch will feed me for about a month. I also make lots of curries and sauces for the same reasons. Every Sunday night I thaw a mason jar of soup and a mason jar of curry to use for the week. Soup for lunch, curry w/ brown rice (which I also make on Sundays) and some chopped veggies for dinner. Easy and cheap! Anything you can make in bulk and freeze is a lifesaver if you're a student. Especially because if you're extra tight on money one week and can't afford groceries (happens to me a LOT), you'll have back-up food in the freezer.