Forget the scale...focus on your body!

Options
I joined MFP on a whim back in May 2011 but I haven't been seriously using this app/website till the end of July 2012. As I stepped on the scale at the Doctor's office back in July and saw that I weighed 256lbs, it was definitely an eye opener. It was time for a change. I joined a gym, changed my diet and began tracking my calories. It was amazing to step on the scale and go from 256lbs, then to 236lbs, 231lbs, and then 226lbs...then up to 234lbs. As a novice, I began to freak out that I was gaining back weight! But I knew that weight must have been from muscle mass. How do I know? I noticed that my pants and shirts are getting bigger, I have some muscle definition in my legs and arms, and I have more energy and endurance throughout the day. So don't fret if you are working out vigorously and eating right and notice some weight gain. Just focus on your body and how good you feel and eventually the scale will catch up.

Replies

• LoggingForLife
    LoggingForLife Posts: 504 Member
    Options
    Thanks, I needed to be reminded of that today.
  • sandygaylegunn
    sandygaylegunn Posts: 87 Member
    Options
    Thank you for this. I relate. NSVs (non-scale victories) abound, if I focus on them and not the scale.
  • kelalvar111
    Options
    Couldn't agree more! Thanks for sharing the reminder. Had one of the moments last week myself, when the scale said I was up a couple of pounds, but the check in with my trainer confirmed I was down in inches. :smile:
  • NC2001
    NC2001 Posts: 17 Member
    Options
    I don't think I'll step on a scale any time soon...unless I notice a significant change in my body composition.
  • EricaCarmack
    Options
    i am having that problem right now! it is seriously irritating!
    it is almost enough to make me wanna quit trying!
  • ggcat
    ggcat Posts: 313 Member
    Options
    I couldn't agree more!