Frustration with Amount of Calories Burned during Activities

Options
I started with MyFitnessPal about 2 weeks ago, and it's been very enlightening. According to this, I definitely haven't been eating anywhere close to what I should be per day. I'll give a little background on myself: I am a 22 year old female, 175 lb, 5'6" (should be about 150 lb - optimal weight). I am a student at University but I also am a dance instructor and take at least dance or yoga every day of the week. So I stay pretty active but nothing too crazy.

What's frustrating is that some sources say aerobic dance burns 380cal/hr, and some say over 600!! That's a huge difference and makes a big difference to how much I am eating a day. Also, when I'm teaching versus actually taking a class, I usually just cut the calories in half, since I estimate I'm doing about half the work, but I have no idea if that's accurate. Can anyone suggest a more reliable way to figure out how many calories I'm burning a day??

Replies

• AmyRhubarb
    AmyRhubarb Posts: 6,890 Member
    Options
    A heart rate monitor is much more accurate. A good one with a chest strap will monitor your heart rate during exercise, and will give you a much better idea of calories burned, whether you're participating or teaching.

If money is tight, look for new models on eBay - I was going for either a Polar or a New Balance, and the NB came up first. I got a brand new New Balance N4 for $26.
  • becki1815
    becki1815 Posts: 51 Member
    Options
    I wore a monitor (bodymedia.com) religiously for almost a year.

In my Zumba class, I would burn 650-700 for the hour.
  • BrianSharpe
    BrianSharpe Posts: 9,248 Member
    Options
    +1 on the HRM. It will be basing your calorie burn on your actual level of intensity not what someone who created a website thinks.
  • geebusuk
    geebusuk Posts: 3,348 Member
    Options