Am I eating a healthy amount of calories?

Options
I am pretty new to this whole calorie counting thing, so please bare with me :)
To reach my goal weight, I am supposed to be eating 1200 calories a day. I normally eat like 1500-1800 calories a day, but I run 7-10 miles a day so i probably burn a lot of calories too. I also eat most of my calories at one time. Is this bad? Will I lose weight this way, or am I not getting enough calories? I'm sorry I sound so ignorant, I just really have no idea lol.
Any help is appreciated :)

Replies

• LoraF83
    LoraF83 Posts: 15,694 Member
    Options
    The best way to figure out how many calories you need is to run your numbers. Follow this link, read it. Figure out your BMR & TDEE and then eat a 20-25% cut from that.

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/654536-in-place-of-a-road-map-2-0-revised-7-2-12
  • sillyninna
    sillyninna Posts: 21 Member
    Options
    Ok thanks!
  • diannethegeek
    diannethegeek Posts: 14,776 Member
    Options
    Meal timing won't affect your weightloss, so it's fine to eat most of your calories at once.
  • AmyRhubarb
    AmyRhubarb Posts: 6,890 Member
    Options
    The best way to figure out how many calories you need is to run your numbers. Follow this link, read it. Figure out your BMR & TDEE and then eat a 20-25% cut from that.

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/654536-in-place-of-a-road-map-2-0-revised-7-2-12
    I'll second this link - great info there. Read through it, read it again if you're not sure, ask questions of the original poster - helped me tremendously!
  • GrammaBonnie
    GrammaBonnie Posts: 232 Member
    Options