Getting Discouraged!

Options
Hey guys,

I'm new to MyFitness and this week I have started working out and everything. I go over my calorie count but then a exercise those excessive calories off!!! And I exercise a lot!!! I'm melting when I'm finished working out but it seems like I am not losing weight. :sad: It's getting me very discouraged.:grumble:

Do you guys have some tips or advice as to what I should do?

Thanks a ton! :flowerforyou:

EDIT: Sorry guys, I forgot to mention that I'm only posting this because I'm doing this weight loss with a friend and she has already lost 5lb! She does weight more than me, I am 182 and she is now 220 but still...

Replies

• anifani4
    anifani4 Posts: 457 Member
    Options
    What did you expect to lose in just a few days? It takes a consistent effort over time to lose body fat.
    If you're exercising when you were doing nothing before, then it could be you are building muscle or you are retaining water in your muscles to help them through the work you are putting them through. There are lots of reasons why the scale doesn't budge so it's better psychologically if you use other parameters as well, such as the fit of your clothes, or measurements. Remember it takes a calorie deficit of 3,500 to burn a pound of excess fat. And it takes a few days to add those up. Be patient with yourself and keep moving forward.
  • lmelangley
    lmelangley Posts: 1,039 Member
    Options
    Get a tape measure and take your measurements now! If you're exercising as you say, I'm guessing fat is being morphed into muscle. You may not lose lbs, but you may be losing inches. A lb of muscle is much denser - hence smaller - than a lb of fat. So take those measurements and see where you are in a week or so. Don't be discouraged - this will take time, but you'll get there. And, each and every day you're getting healthier. And, that's what this is all about, right?
  • Bigwein5
    Options