Transition from weight loss to maintenance

Options
I'm only just over 1/2way to GW, but I'm starting to worry about maintenance... I have found the transition to less food/better food/more activity challenging, but REALLY empowering... but, I have no experience with working to maintain a specific weight.

I think I've made real lifestyle changes that have become ingrained... but, I could really use pointers to resources for how to stop losing, and simply maintain. I am really happy with my activity level (i.e., I wouldn't want to cut back, because it's not like I'm doing anything extreme)... and I don't know where/how to add in some of the calories I've worked hard to strip out... I'm not wandering around hungry, so...

Advice is appreciated. (Advice wrapped in bacon, also appreciated ;) )

cheers.

Replies

• delong99
    delong99 Posts: 22 Member
    Options
    To maintain a 123 GW, you wont' make too many changes from loss mode, at least that is my experience, because your BMR will be fairly low. I am still exercising the same, and maybe eating a few hundred calories more a day. It takes just as much effort and attention to maintain as it does to lose, in my opinion.

I tend to go up and down a few pounds here and there because it is virtually impossible to always weigh the same. I weigh myself often in maintenance and if I see a lb or two gain that lasts more than a few days, I make adjustments to my calories.
  • plafleur76
    plafleur76 Posts: 107 Member
    Options
    bump for when I get to this point
  • bellydancer124
    Options
    Funny you post this today, as I was JUST stressing about it. I'm 2 lbs below my goal weight and finally changed my daily cals to "maintenance mode" and I'm so scared of gaining the weight back lol.

Anyway, just bumping to read later when I'm not at work. :smile:
  • mustgetmuscles1
    mustgetmuscles1 Posts: 3,346 Member
    Options