Restaurant workers

Options
At the moment I'm working at a restaurant to put myself through college. I've been working there for over a year but keep battling the same issue.

The food we offer is not... the greatest and I work there about 30-40 hours a week, on top of school, which messes with my ability to eat healthy on so many levels.

Does anyone have suggestions on how to get through longer shifts without gorging myself on bread? When I remember, I bring a Clif bar or something of the ilk, I just can't bring in real food. I'm lucky to get in a food bar of some sort thanks to a letter from my doctor due to my low blood pressure.

So does anyone have other suggestions? The same issue? Healthier bar/ideas for me when I go into work? I'd appreciate the help!

Replies

• Culley34
    Culley34 Posts: 224
    Options
    You can't bring your own food?
  • h_met
    h_met Posts: 15
    Options
    No, as I work in a restaurant, I am not allowed to bring in my own food. We're supposed to eat before or after our shift. There are county health issues with food prepared in a kitchen vs at home and them being mixed. Also, if I were to bring in something like a sandwich, my other coworkers would ask why they aren't allowed it.

The snacks I bring in are supposed to be prepackaged. Sometimes I try to get away with carrot sticks.
  • skellyness
    skellyness Posts: 165 Member
    Options
    I don't understand why you can't bring a sandwich tbh.. sounds like they are trying to get a captive audience. Are there any healthier food places around near where you work?
  • h_met
    Options
    A food court. At a mall. Which isn't healthy in the least. I'm not given breaks during my shift, so I couldn't leave to go find food half way through.

The sandwich could contaminate food, fall into other people's plates, and then there's the issue of food stuck in my teeth, guests seeing me eat the sandwich, no where to store it, etc.
  • dalgirly
    dalgirly Posts: 280 Member
    Options