School Lunches

Options
2»

Replies

• AllonsYtotheTardis
    AllonsYtotheTardis Posts: 16,947 Member
    Options
    Not everyone can afford to pack school lunches.

Must be very different in the US than here in Montreal... It's WAAAAAY cheaper to pack my son's lunch from home than to buy the one at school.
  • henryandrewmom
    henryandrewmom Posts: 25 Member
    Options
    Yes this is new. There are many limitations that have been imposed nation wide on school lunches, including limiting the number of grains, protein, etc., that can be served each week. The calorie limit for students in grades 9 -12 is from 750 - 850 for lunch; the younger grades have a lower limit than that.

I work in a school and this is a huge issue. Our students are starving! I also am coaching volleyball right now, and the kids come to practice hungry and aren't as able to put in a good practice as they have been in the past because they are not allowed as much food.

I know that on chicken nugget day, the limits set forth for protein say that kids in grades K-8 are allowed 1.5 chicken nuggets! And students in grades 9 - 12 could have 3. CRAZY!
  • salgalruns
    salgalruns Posts: 83 Member
    Options
    I'll share what happens at my school. I am a principal at a low income school in southern Californai and we serve 500-600 lunches a day. Paid or free, it's the same stuff. Our district has implemented a salad bar, so our students have the choice of mixed greens, fresh veggies (today it was cucumbers, jicama, broccoli, & red bell peppers) and fruit (red grapes and peaches today). They then also had orange chicken (about 1/2 cup) and brownish colored rice (about 1/2 cup). Students are offered milk - either 2%, 1% or fat free. With our 5th and 6th graders, if we have extra, we offer seconds.