Advice on Focus from the pros?

Options
msarro
msarro Posts: 2,748 Member
Alrighty, so here goes. As long as I've been on here, I have had 160lbs as my goal. However, I'm starting to think that 180 would make a bit better of a goal for me, and at that point just focus on dropping my Body Fat%. My final goal has always been to look 'cut,' not to look emaciated. But I also know that people tend to perceive how they will look at a certain weight differently than they actually will look. I'm 5'8, wide frame. To this day I have trouble wearing some medium sized shirts because my shoulders are too broad.

So, advice would be appreciated. I still have 24lbs to go until 180, which by the rate I've been going will be about 6 or so months, hahaha (especially with the running season starting in march for me).

Replies

• Chenoachem
    Chenoachem Posts: 1,758 Member
    Options
    I'm not a pro, but I would think 180 would be a good weight if it involved muscle tone. Especially if you have wide shoulders to begin with. 160 sounds a bit skinny but I am married to someone that is 165 and 6'6" so I might not be the best advice.
  • msarro
    Options
    Any other advice? :)
  • happybrooke
    Options
    Why not talk to your Dr? That's what I did. I found that the 135-140lb goal was unrealistic for my body. I also have broad shoulders (for a girl!) and he told me that I would probably find myself at my healthiest at 150lbs. He also confirmed that was a healthier goal. That's where I'd start if I were you.
  • msarro
    Options
    Hrm, I actually don't have a PCP. Maybe it'd be a good time to start.
  • bostonmia
    bostonmia Posts: 15 Member
    Options