question about the timing...i'm new at this!

Options
hello, i have a question and hope you can help: i walk (briskly) to and from my pilates class, it's about 15 minutes each way. do i enter that as 30 minutes of walking, even if it's not 30 minutes in a row? does it count if it's broken up? thanks!

Replies

• BrianSharpe
    BrianSharpe Posts: 9,248 Member
    Options
    Yup! Even if you wanted to enter the 2 walks separately MFP would add them together as 30 minutes.

From a caloric point of view there's no discernible difference.
  • ChinUp4Life
    Options
    All of the walking you do adds up through out the day. You can enter that as 30 mins.

Walk as much as possible, it's a great way to burn extra calories. And your body actually burns a good ratio of fat calories compared to carb calories while walking.
  • drmerc
    drmerc Posts: 2,603 Member
    Options
    All of the walking you do adds up through out the day. You can enter that as 30 mins.

Walk as much as possible, it's a great way to burn extra calories. And your body actually burns a good ratio of fat calories compared to carb calories while walking.

wut?
  • meghangg
    meghangg Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    ok, thanks! i was hoping so!
  • EmilyOfTheSun
    EmilyOfTheSun Posts: 1,548 Member
    Options
    Yes it counts if it's broken up. If you have a smart phone, you can even get an app that will tell you how fast you walked so you can more accurately enter it into MFP. Just go to the app store and search "pedometer". There are lots to choose from.
  • meghangg
    meghangg Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    ok, good, thanks emily. i use the NikeGPS app for when i run, but i don't usually use it when walking. maybe i'll give it a try
  • texastango
    Options