Should I be eating Breakfast Before or after workout?

Options
Hi there. I've been using MFP for a few months now, but just got into the community aspect of it. I just wanted to put a little question out there about breakfast. Normally I get up pretty early (around 5:40am) and I have a cup of tea or coffee. I start my workout around 7 and finish around 8-8:30. I eat my breakfast post workout. Is this a good habit to be in, or should I be eating my breakfast before I workout? Any advice will be appreciated, so thanks in advance!

Replies

• Sherylmarlee
    Sherylmarlee Posts: 224 Member
    Options
    Some will say that you should and others will say that it doesn't matter. My personal preference is to have something in my stomach pre work out....protein shake, a piece of fruit, just something. But, with that being said, IMO from what I have read, they state that you are fine sans eating pre workout if the workout is less than an hour in duration. If your workout is longer than an hour or exceptionally intense, I would think you would need the fuel to push through the workout effectively. I can wrap my head around this only because of being in a semi fasted state while sleeping and not providing any fuel for your body for 6-9 hours But, it all really does come down to a personal preference. If you feel like you are hitting a wall, then, you might need to fuel beforehand. If you get through it just fine, then why fix what isn't broke. Again, these are personal observations and opinions on my behalf.
  • careyannal
    Options
    Before IMO, just make sure you wait an hour to digest.
  • GuybrushThreepw00d
    GuybrushThreepw00d Posts: 784 Member
    Options
    My morning routine is identical to yours, I think it works for me. I've contemplated eating a banana as soon as I wake up before driving to work, but I'm never very hungry.