Started 2k/day Calorie Burn- need advise on food.

Options
I have read a few articles about this topic. Here's one:
http://www.livestrong.com/article/367666-can-too-much-exercise-slow-weight-loss/?utm_source=undefined_R1

I am a 46 year old male. current weight of 303. started at 326 in late June and have a steady loss of 5 pounds per month. My goal weight is 190. I have the time now to hit the gym hard and would like to increase my weight loss pace.

For the past week I'm doing cardio for about 2000-2200 calories per day on elliptical/uphill treadmill/stat bike at my gym for 3 hours. I break it into 2 sessions 1.5 hours each in the morning and evening. I also do strength training 2-3 days per week each session for 45 minutes that was originally setup by a trainer. The strength training is done during my daily 3 hour sessions and I just started training 2 weeks prior. Previously I was only doing 1 hour sessions daily only before last week. Yes, I am sore in my legs some and back daily.

I am taking strata-6 protein drink after every workout per my trainer.

I am eating about 2000 calories per day. My first week of doing this I only lost 1.2 pounds. I thought I would lose closer to 4-5 pounds. By the numbers my daily basal metabolic rate should be 2550-3300 depending on which one you use. With this I should be losing 500 calories per day roughly from taking in less food another 2000 per day for the exercise. 2500 calories per day x 7 day would be 17.5k "lost", divide by 3500 calories per pound to get to 5 pounds lost. However, I have only lost 1.5 pounds.

I know a lot of factors can come into play. individual genetics. water retension. starvation mode. hormones. etc.

I would love to get some input from people who have tried this type of regimen and learn what their results were?