Social Workers

Options
jms57
jms57 Posts: 11 Member
I was wondering if anyone on this site works as a social worker? I am currently working on my MSW. I enjoy it and so far enjoy the work! Any advice for a newbie social worker?

Replies

• lilmisfit
    lilmisfit Posts: 860 Member
    Options
    I'm an LCSW. My only advice is to realize that your education will be helpful, yes, but most situations that you will find yourself in will not be something that was covered in your classes. Hands-on experience is SO different.

That being said, I love being a social worker! Congrats on your MSW. When are you graduating?
  • htimpaired
    htimpaired Posts: 1,404 Member
    Options
    Sad to see this thread so small. I'm an LCSW also, would love to speak with other social workers about the profession and the challenges that make this field unique. :-)
  • LJeffersSW
    LJeffersSW Posts: 26 Member
    Options
    I am a Social Worker (MSW). Would love to have some fellow Social Workers as friends (as we all know, he have to support ourselves and eachother, not only our clients!) :-)
  • Jackiales
    Jackiales Posts: 24 Member
    Options
    Hi, I'm 6 weeks into my MSW program at the University of CT. I find maintaining balanced sleep, diet and getting excercise in, extremely difficult but I'm committed. What were your balances like?
  • SweetCheekszx0
    SweetCheekszx0 Posts: 478 Member
    Options
    BSW social work program here lol havent gone into the field yet let alone finish schooling but im willing to take in all the extra tips, advice, and situations <3

26517707.png
    Created by MyFitnessPal.com - Free Weight Loss Tools
  • jerbear1962
    jerbear1962 Posts: 1,157 Member
    Options
    My wife is a MSW working with the Mentally Handicapped..she's been there 23 years.
  • dancingnancies
    dancingnancies Posts: 255 Member
    Options