Why do I weigh less when I'm over my calories? Confused

Options
I know you're not supposed to weigh yourself daily, but I really can't seem to stop myself. I think I've become a bit obsessed. :ohwell:

Anyway, I've been noticing that I actually weigh more after the days that I've been right on or under my calorie goal compared to weighing less on days when I'm over my calories (by anything between 100 - 600 extra calories).
I have my activity level set to sedentary because I'm a nursing student and except for the time when I intentionally do some kind of exercise I really mostly just sit around.
But I'm wondering if my metabolism really is higher than MFP says it is? Should I start letting myself eat a bit more or stick with my daily 1290? 1290 helped me lose 13 pounds so far. But before that I was REALLY sedentary, so maybe that did raise my metabolism? But on The Biggest Loser they're on 1200 calorie diets and it continues to work for them... I'm So very confused. :frown:

Replies

• ALH1981
    ALH1981 Posts: 538 Member
    Options
    lucky!!

I have the opposite problme, gaining when im under! boooooo
  • katevarner
    katevarner Posts: 884 Member
    Options
    From what I read, on the Biggest Loser, they lose it very unhealthily. Sounds like your number is set too low and you may need to eat more. Are you getting any exercise? If so, need to eat back those calories at least. Since you are losing when you are over, why not adjust your calories to about 1400 or even a little more for a week or so and see if the losing continues. If so, you might even decide to add another 100 calories or so until it levels off to see how much you can eat and still lose.
  • Booobarella
    Options