How do you log?

Options
Hey everyone!

I've been using MFP for awhile now and I've gotten curious about something: Many of my friends here on MFP log and track exercise in different ways. There are some who log only what they do at the gym/doing "actual" exercise, and there are some who log their daily activities (walking to the store, cleaning the house for a few minutes), as well as their "actual" exercise.

Do you believe it's worth logging every little thing (say, a couple minutes of cleaning that earns you maybe 20 calories) or not? I've read that some people believe that logging stuff like that to a total tee feel it motivates obsessive habits.

I'm wondering how you guys do it/what you guys think and why for the sake of my curiosity! Not saying anyone is right or wrong, I'm just curious to see all the different ways people log.

Replies

• dmarie1971
    Options
    I'm afraid it may encourage me to use the extra earned calories and I don't want to do that. I'm a newbie, just started recording intake so perhaps I'll change my mind.
  • Mokey41
    Mokey41 Posts: 5,769 Member
    Options
    I only log intentional exercise and I don't eat those calories. I cleaned my house, went shopping, walked the dog, etc before and it didn't help me lose weight then so I doubt it will now. I think people who spend their time searching for extra calories to eat are doomed to failure because they still are't getting that you eat to live not live to eat.
  • tameejean
    tameejean Posts: 197 Member
    Options
    No. The total number of calories that I chose to eat (not what MFP "thinks" I should eat) includes my regular exercise. If I workout above my normal activity, then I add some back, if I'm hungry.
  • kimosabe1
    kimosabe1 Posts: 2,467 Member
    Options