Making chocolate protein shake tastier?

Options
I use Optimum Nutrition's Hydro Platinum Whey in the chocolate flavor. I've been using it for about two years and although I thought the taste was great for the first year, I've gotten very tired of it and find it difficult to get down. Is there anything I can do besides mixing it with milk to help?

Replies

• polza1888
    polza1888 Posts: 87 Member
    Options
    Add peanut butter, I use that a lot with shakes, gives it a great kick :) Try mixing your shakes up, try different flavours like banana and blend in actual bananas with it...
  • laurastomlin
    laurastomlin Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    Yes I agree. I love to add a couple tsps to my chocolate shake...very good!
  • xxthoroughbred
    xxthoroughbred Posts: 346 Member
    Options
    I can't add PB because it's a migraine trigger. Anything else?
  • martintanz
    Options
    I mix in half a frozen banana, and sometimes a couple of spoonfuls of lowfat vanilla yogurt. Helps with the texture. If that doesn't help, maybe consider switching brands and/or flavors.
  • Koldnomore
    Koldnomore Posts: 1,613 Member
    Options
    I put the powder in with my overnight oats. You could try some Greek yogurt and fruit with milk/almond milk. I've also seen shakes made with Cottage cheese and milk but they are a bit lumpy for my taste.
  • vypeters
    vypeters Posts: 475 Member
    Options
    If you don't want milk, try unsweetened almond milk to thicken. Blue Diamond is only 40 calories.

Cocoa powder. Chocolately and a good source of fiber.
    About 5-7 eye dropper drops of peppermint extract
    PB2 powdered peanut butter
    Any of a billion sugar-free syrups.

And this one: a little cocoa and 1/2 to 3/4 cup of frozen blueberries. Blueberry chocolate is awesome!
  • polza1888
    Options