Off of the keto diet introducing carbs again HELP!!

So I've been doing the keto diet for a year with success but I have run my course with it and would like to do a "normal" diet/healthy change by eating better but adding carbs back in. Has anyone gone from doing a high fat/protein diet (LOW CARB) to a normal diet with just watching calorie intake and nothing else. I would like to know what weight gain if any I should expect or actually what overall should I expect. Thanks :)

Replies

• kevokie
    kevokie Posts: 53 Member
    Well, first I'm no expert.

I took myself off the keto diet for about a month and maintained the weight within a couple of pounds the whole time. I would suggest adding some carbs slowly back into your diet to get used to them again. You should expect to gain some weight back, but that is because your glycogen stores will be filling again which tend to hold more water. If you are watching your calories and what exactly you eat, you should be fine. Just take it slow.
  • witchy_wife
    witchy_wife Posts: 792 Member
    I would start by adding slow release carbs from vegetables and oats. And just gradually increase bit by bit. As long as you are eating at a calorie defecit you shouldn't gain fat, but your glycogen stores (I think they are called) will increase (these decreasing is why you get such a big loss at the start). So I would say it might take a few weeks but eventually your body will get the hang of what you are doing.

I flip between low carb and regular counting calories and it is NOT TRUE when people say you will gain everything back if you go back to eating carbs. If you go back to eating the junk that put you the weight on then you will, but eat healthy on a calorie defecit and after a little while you will get back to losing weight.