Just started today-am 54 y/o & have over 100 lbs to lose

Options
In short I have been fighting a weight problem since I was 12 years old when I was diagnosed with psoriatic arthritis. I am now 54 and after years of weight watching I have lost and gained what feels like thousands of pounds over and over and over again - all on the same commercial weight loss program. A friend told me about this program and it is the first time I have ever tried something new. I am hopeful but also scared. I have had 2 knee replacements in the past 2 years, both of which had difficulties and left me worse off than I started, so movement has been a problem. I'm fighting depression, loneliness and isolation and hoping to meet some others here who might be dealing with similar issues. I am on disability and find it extra challenging to lose weight when it hurts to walk and get around. I do participate in a class at the local Y in the pool called "Joyful Joints" that has been helpful. Any encouragement is appreciated.

Replies

• janeann58
    janeann58 Posts: 14 Member
    Options
    I was told by my friend that ppl on here were very friendly and helpful and I feel very sad and discouraged that not one person has reached out and/or responded to my plea for friendship and encouragement????????
  • Svpaskewitz
    Options
    Hi Janeann. I am 51 years of age and I just started today also. I have 40 pounds to lose. Today was a little hard for me because I felt hungry all day, but I have managed to get through the hard part. You hang in there, and if you ever need words of encouragement email me. Good Luck. :smile:
  • janeelizabethhoff
    Options
    There are some really great people on here. I have been on for about 3 weeks and really enjoy reading everyone's posts. I would love to help encourage you. We all need all the friends and encouragement we can get on this journey. It is certainly not easy. Sending you a friend request.
  • Tryinonemoretime