Family is whining about my new cooking style

Options
I've been tracking and trying to eat better for a couple of months now, which includes paying more attention to what I'm cooking. And since neither my husband nor my teenage daughter can be bothered to learn to cook (don't even get me started on that one), that means they eat what I make.

Now it's not like I took away their fried mozzarella and tried to give them tofu and sprouts instead. I've been trying to find healthier ways to prepare the foods we all like - for example, making Skinnytaste's spinach lasagna rolls which are 225 calories a serving instead of my usual lasagna which is cheesy and nommy and 450 some-odd calories a serving, or subbing ground turkey for ground beef, or using whole wheat stuff instead of refined white stuff.

It's very frustrating to serve a meal that I worked hard on and be greeted with an unenthusiastic "It's okay. I like your _____ better" with _____ always being some high fat high carb thing I've cooked in the past. I gave them roasted red pepper soup the other day that was awesome IMO and was told it wasn't as good as my ham and cheese potato soup. Um, yeah, they're two different things - can't you like them both??

I do still sometimes cook the old favorites like the aforementioned ham and cheese potato soup (which is da bomb but the calories are crazy high) but I'm getting discouraged (and very very irritated) by my family's apathy and complaining.

Replies

• gerripho
    gerripho Posts: 479 Member
    Options
    Since you are the one doing the work, you shouldn't have to put up with that. Warn them once! Tell them that the next such complaint will result in the food being removed from them and you will replace it with NOTHING. You will have to be certain that you will be able to follow through. Once warned, the next time someone complains, rise and take their plate directly to the disposal or trash bin and away it goes. That should do it.
  • peuglow