BodyMedia vs. Polar HRM: my love/hate relationship triangle

Options
So I've been using my Polar FT7 HRM for about 18 months now. I ALWAYS tried to eat all my exercise calories back. Well lo and behold, last week I sat down and analyzed 82 weeks of data. LOTS of data; everything from the obvious averages (weight for the week, net intake, gross intake, calories burned, minutes worked out, macro breakdowns) to the obscure (sodium intake, where I'm at in my cycle, whether or not I had personal trainer assistance, my calipered body-fat, etc). I am an Excel spreadsheet geek and a bit of a control freak. In the past year, I've gained about 20lbs. Now, my body composition didn't go to total ****. I was 151lbs and 18.5% body-fat (7pt skinfold) in August 2011, at last measurement (Sept. 10th) I was 165lbs and 21.9% body-fat. Started hitting the gym a lot and crept up another 7 or so lbs before I went crazy on the Excel thing and figured out the primary culprit/trend.

-The more I worked out at the gym (HRM measured and logged activities), and the more calories I logged as burned off the HRM, then subsequently "ate back" to make net, the more weight I gained.

So either a.) I needed to lay the heck off the gym to lose weight or b.) my HRM was seriously overestimating my burns and I either need a new device / need to stop eating back all my HRM calories burned. I went with the latter. I picked up my BodyMedia Fit Link last week.

So far, the discrepancies haven't been that bad while wearing both. The BodyMedia registers burns anywhere from 78%-118% of the HRM. That's been doing primarily cardio though as I know to get back to the weight and body composition I want, some lean mass needs to be simutaneously sacrificed at the altar along with the fat mass (*gasp* commence "flaming"). I want to look more Gorgo from 300 than Xena Warrior Princess.

Anyway, here's the comparison between the two on an easy loping C25K Week 3 Day 3 "run" with my 11 year old son: