Hoping to LOSE weight over the holidays

Options
Hi, all. I'm somewhat new to MFP and I'm enjoying it so far. I know what it takes to lose the weight, but I'm nervous about surviving the holidays. Perhaps a more sane goal would be to avoid gaining until after the new year, but I'm going to challenge myself to lose over the holidays. I'm sure a lot of people here are in the same boat. Anyway, just wanted to introduce myself and open up the opportunity for communication with the great members of MFP!

Best wishes :)

Replies

• Allyice
    Allyice Posts: 122 Member
    Options
    I'd love to do the same but I know how our Christmas lunches usually are, lol.... I'll try and go for the healthier options because I'm going to try and maintain until next year :)
  • sandobr1
    sandobr1 Posts: 319 Member
    Options
    I will be losing through the holidays, just like I did on vacation...small but a loss. I will still lose maybe not as much but so much better then Jan 1rolling around and having to start or regretting I did not take positive steps before.
  • awake4777
    awake4777 Posts: 190 Member
    Options
    Eat before that luncheon, dinner, or party. Eat just enough so you are not starving or chomping at the bit by the time you can eat.

Stick to the plan.

Skip the party.

Order your main meal from the "lite meal" or appetizer menu.

Skip the drinks to eat more food. Do NOT skip the food to drink more. You'll be drunk and stupid.
  • rachiegrl6
    rachiegrl6 Posts: 27 Member
    Options
    Also hoping to lose over the holidays. I have a week long Thanksgiving vacation coming up next week and I am going to stick to my guns. I know this can happen!

I'd love to friend you for encouragement. Good luck!
  • camajade
    camajade Posts: 66 Member
    Options