First run - how to stop the muscle pain?!!

Options
I've been swimming 3 or 4 times a week for the last 2 months but have been wanting to branch out a little and start jogging, especially since I won't have access to the pool for a month over Christmas. I'd never been to a gym before but I manned up and went in there on Monday and decided to do a little treadmill before a shorter swim.

I didn't overdo it - mainly fast walking (4mph) and some jogging (5.5mph) for about 30 minutes, then I swam and I was fine.

Later on in the evening my legs started to stiffen and tighten and by yesterday they were SORE. Every time I stop moving for a few minutes they stiffen straight up (I'm a student so I HAVE to be still!). I thought they might have gotten a little better by today but it seems even worse - to the point that I didn't bother getting up early enough to go for a swim today.

The pain today is all down the muscles in the back of my lower legs, and then my ankles have started stiffening this morning too.

What can I do to relieve the pain? I did a little search and noticed a lot of people suggesting warm baths - unfortunately I don't have access to a bath at all so that option is out. I work 2 hours per day at a library which involves walking around, standing, bending constantly which isn't so easy at the moment!

Also, what can I do to minimise the pain next time I try to jog? I'm a heavy girl and I understand my body is trying to change but is there something I can do pre-run or post-run? Or even during the run? I used to wear supports on my ankles because of an old injury - would elastic tube bandages provide more support to my legs / ankles?

Thanks for any help!

Replies

• emzilee
    emzilee Posts: 96 Member
    Options
    Anyone?
  • dreilingda
    dreilingda Posts: 122 Member
    Options