Calorie VS Carbs, Protein, Fat

Options
I'm new to MFP. I was on WW and lost 24 lbs. I've decided to switch to MFP because its free. This is my first day, and I was wondering about the calories. Let's say you maxed the limit of carbs, protein, and fat, but still have calories left. I haven't yet, but what do you do? I'm just trying to get the hang of this new method.

Replies

• MDWilliams1857
    MDWilliams1857 Posts: 315 Member
    Options
    That really wont happen. Youre calories are made up of either carbs, protein or fat so if you hit your limit on all three of those then you will also be at your limit on calories. The only way you will be under on your calories is to be under on either carbs, fat or protein.
  • KipDrordy
    KipDrordy Posts: 169 Member
    Options
    Don't get caught up in that stuff. This isn't like WW. It's more of a general calorie tracker. The nutrition guide is nice to analyze and use to change to a more balanced diet, but you really don't need to pay too close of attention to those things. If you have a smart phone, I highly recommend the MFP app. You can scan most packages right into your diary.
  • Chief_Rocka
    Chief_Rocka Posts: 4,710 Member
    Options
    Don't get caught up in that stuff. This isn't like WW. It's more of a general calorie tracker. The nutrition guide is nice to analyze and use to change to a more balanced diet, but you really don't need to pay too close of attention to those things. If you have a smart phone, I highly recommend the MFP app. You can scan most packages right into your diary.

^This. I would actually shoot for double MFP's protein recommendation
  • AntWrig
    AntWrig Posts: 2,273 Member
    Options

All you need is 1g per lb of body weight or lean mass body mass.
  • dustinbattistone
    Options