Diabetic + Overweight = Need to lose 87 pounds

Options
Well I am a newbie here, so hi to all. Basically I am 287 I have been diabetic for almost 2 years. Did well for the first 2 months, then that was it. I sit here now listening to my wife sleep (weighing 258) and realizing that this needs to be done. For now I pray for strengh that we can do this and tomorrow will be a new day and a fresh start.......

Replies

• corinne1019
    Options
    I feel your Pain,, I also being diagnosed in the last 2 years.. Doctors always say weight loss and cutting Carbs are the key to good blood sugars. I don't know about you,, I want so very much to reverse my diabetics,, so I don't have to take med's.. Don't be too hard on yourself.. I join myfitnesspal and recorded everyday and never saw any weightless for 3 weeks since then its been loss a couple lbs and gain back, BUT I started to feel good.. I have always Hated exercising but when i felt better it became easier, now i love it.. Just start walking.. who cares how far.. baby steps.. Trust me you will love the sun and breeze on your face.. I use my phone and Pandora for some music,, and I Classic rock and roll my way around the neighborhood. I too have a goal of weightless of more then 80 lbs.. I think of it of Finally Taking Care of myself and a journey.. no matter how long it takes.. please feel free to add me as a friend and we can follow the path of wellness together.
  • hughtwalker
    hughtwalker Posts: 2,213 Member
    Options
    welcome - and yes you can ("Bob-The-Builder mode: can we fix it, yes we can")
    best wishes and welcome - ignore the bullies (or even better, annoy the bullies), log everything and be amazed at what used to creep under your food-radar
  • BlackStarlight
    BlackStarlight Posts: 554 Member
    Options
    Hey,
    Welcome to MFP. Good luck on your journey. Well done you for making the first step. You can do this!!
    Feel free to add me for extra support
    Always looking for new friends