Dieting On A Budget?

Options
I am a full time college student, so my budget is tight. When I go grocery shopping I find that buying healthy foods cost me twice as much! I am new to this and I am wanting some ideas of inexpensive meals/snacks that are healthy and will help me lose weight. Nothing weird though, I shop at Wal-mart if that helps.

Replies

• Lalouse
    Lalouse Posts: 221 Member
    Options
    Try to go frozen for vegetables.. they are better than canned, and not as expensive as fresh. There are tons of stuff that you buy frozen like carrots, beans, peas, broccoli etc..

If you look at the fresh fruit and veggies, and pay attention to prices, you'll realize that the same items cost different across the year. You need to try and buy things in season. Clementines are super cheap now where I live. Apples are cheap in the fall. Bananas are cheap year round. Fresh spinach is cheap now in the winter (lots of spinach salads!) Figure out what costs what where you live.. and I also try to cook accordingly. For example, I saw that cauliflower was suddenly in season, so I bought some and cooked with it, instead of making the meal I had planned.

If you are willing to buy basic long-term stuff (flour, sugar, salt, etc..) and take the time to cook, you'll be able to live in a budget.

And I just looked this up again, but I've used it before in the past.. this is from the USDA: http://www.choosemyplate.gov/healthy-eating-on-budget.html
  • Lissa_M
    Lissa_M Posts: 131
    Options