Elliptical ONLY Success???

Options
HELP!! Has anyone had success in using an elliptical only?? I'm having a breast augmentation in 13 days and the anticipation is killing me. Not as far as the surgery but the recovery time in order to start working out again. I am banned from TurboFire for TWELVE freaking weeks and my doctor said that I can't do anything but walk three weeks following my procedure. I can start using the elliptical no sooner than 3 weeks but I'm scared that it's not going to be enough to keep me in shape.

Replies

• christou84
    christou84 Posts: 79 Member
    Options
    I'm no expert, but I think you should be fine... I'd do it for longer periods if you can... it's best than no exercise at all ;-)
  • Chikipiwi
    Chikipiwi Posts: 117 Member
    Options
    The major part gaining/loosing will be your food intake. Just stay withing your calorie goal and you should be fine.
  • ninerbuff
    ninerbuff Posts: 48,668 Member
    Options
    Compensate your calories burned by eating a little less. Part of surgery is recovery. Don't rush recovery because that's when complications happen. So you're out a month..................that can be reattained. Going back for another surgery to correct complications would hinder you longer.

A.C.E. Certified Personal and Group Fitness Trainer
    IDEA Fitness member
    Kickboxing Certified Instructor
    Been in fitness for 28+ years and have studied kinesiology and nutrition
  • krowanvil
    krowanvil Posts: 49 Member
    Options
    Most of my workouts are walking and elliptical and I have managed to lose close to 15 lbs since the end of September. As with any weight loss plan, it is just cals in vs cals out. If you want a little more effort in your walking, carry some weights while you walk (if the doc OKs this) and it will work your upper back and shoulders by just carrying them.
  • Madholm
    Madholm Posts: 167
    Options
    Grats on the new boobs.
  • sarahpalmer84
    sarahpalmer84 Posts: 10 Member