Any advice on how to diet effectively?

Options
I am new to the diet world. I have always ate whatever I wanted, but hated the way I looked (definition of insanity right here). I've recently started running and I plan on completing my first 5K in February and I think a proper diet will help me shred unwanted pounds and increase my time. Any advice would be wonderful.

Replies

• AntWrig
    AntWrig Posts: 2,273 Member
    Options
    I am new to the diet world. I have always ate whatever I wanted, but hated the way I looked (definition of insanity right here). I've recently started running and I plan on completing my first 5K in February and I think a proper diet will help me shred unwanted pounds and increase my time. Any advice would be wonderful.
    Do you need help in overall food choices or how many calories you should be eating?
  • BarackMeLikeAHurricane
    Options
    Calculate your TDEE, eat less than that. Everything else is up to you. Try to make better food choices and keep calorie dense stuff to smaller portions. Eat more fruits and vegetables, and less sugary, starchy, empty calorie foods.
  • simpaticapianista
    Options
    I second the cutting portion, watch calorie intake (that's including what you drink, so try to stick with water, no sugary drinks and limit alcohol if you can), no processed food, and that every meal should consist of carb (non starchy if you can), lean protein, and good fat (think: avocado, olive oil, etc). The composition of those three might be differ depends on whether it's your exercise day or not, whether it's pre or post-workout, etc etc. As for your calorie intake need, you might need to calculate that depends on daily activity, age, metabolism rate, etc etc etc. Things can get complicated (and a bit science-y here).