IRONMAN/TRIATHLON RUNNERS need your opinion

Options
Hey fellow mfp!

I was wondering if anyone had done the ironman/half ironman on this site? I really really want to do the half ironman in maryland on June 8th. However, I've never done a triathlon before and I know you're supposed to and everything, because of the transitions and just so you know what it's like. I think I'm in fairly good shape, I mean I obviously couldn't do a half ironman tomorrow but I could do a sprint no problem. I'm planning on "warming up" training for the rest of the year and start actually training in January. I'm a full time nursing student so I don't have time and the money to pay for olympic races to help me get prepared. The ironman is super expensive but I think if I put down the money I'll have to do it and therefore I'll have to train hard, whereas I wouldn't take olympic races or regular triathlons as seriously I guess. My goal for the half ironman is just to finish, I'm not worried about a certain time as long as I'm under the limit. I just really want to do it and I feel like doing the half ironman will get me into amazing shape, and i won't get there if I don't do it.
Anyway, my question is what is your opinion about this? Is that silly and stupid to do a half ironman without any real experience? Obviously I'd practice transitions before the race and everything so that I'm comfortable. I know young adults have the problem of starting out to fast and getting worn out, but I've always been a steady pace long distance person. So what do you think?

Replies

• rodakowe
    Options
    bump
  • GiddyupTim
    GiddyupTim Posts: 2,819 Member
    Options
    So, should you do such a long race if you have never done any type of triathlon before? Am I understanding your question?
    Well, wouldn't that depend on what kind of shape you are in? Only you know that.