Questions About Chalean Extreme

Options
Mon 12/24/12 07:51 PM
I just started Push Phase and I'm a complete beginner to lifting. I went through the entire Burn Phase with pretty light weights...5-8-10 lbs. I eventually abandoned the 5's in favor of the 8's and the 10's. I've upped it to 10-15-20 for this round, but I'm thinking that in 2 weeks I will abandon the 10's and move to 15-20-25/30. I'm sure in Lean phase, I'll go even higher. My goal is to work into a readiness plan for NROLFW.

What do you think of the progression? Is it too slow? Are the weights not heavy enough? Any other beginners have any insight? What weights did you use?

Backstory: Since I don't have the money to keep buying weights, I wrote out all the exercises on a spreadsheet of sorts and take it to the gym. I practice going slow and good form in front of a huge mirror and 9 times out of 10, I finish in about the same time the DVD ends. Thus, the possibilities for weights are gym-quality.

Replies

• Heather1899
    Heather1899 Posts: 179 Member
    Options
    Wow.
    I am in Lean Phase.
    I also don't have much money to buy more weights. I started owning 5, 8, 10s. I bought a nice mirror to check form. Then I bought 15 and 20 pound weights.
    I think the lowest I used was the 8s in some shoulder exercises. 10s on most other upper body. 15-20 for lower body.
    In the beginning of Lean Phase I think I messed up somehow or it was too much for my elbows so I took a break. I started Turbo Fire and with that I got a red band. I've started doing Lean again but with just the red band. I don't know the weight of that, but I find it can use it for most all exercises and whatever was hurting my joints has disappeared with the band.
    In short, you are lifting more than me!
  • juliaamilee
    juliaamilee Posts: 262 Member
    Options