weight loss aids... bad idea??

Options
Hi everyone! I'm new to MFP...well sort of new. I joined a while ago, and just when I was making progress, my husband and I found out I was pregnant with our second child. The pregnancy was very difficult with many complication - so needless to say: weight loss goal = out the window. Thankfully baby was born happy and healthy, and now that he's 9 months old (and I am NOT having any more kids) I can get back to work on my weight.
My question is, I have always been VERY slow at losing weight. I usually get very frustrated and give up because my progress is so slow. Someone had mentioned to me that I could take a weight loss aid (e.g.: a detox cleanser, pills etc.) to "jump start my slow system". I'm wondering if they actually work? Is it a bad idea? Are they addictive or a waist of money?
I really don't want to take something and be in the news for having a stroke from it later.
Any thoughts?
I also wouldn't mind a few friends, to help with support. My will power SUCKS! :)

Replies

• bcattoes
    bcattoes Posts: 17,299 Member
    Options
    If you are considering a weight loss aid, talk to your doctor. Use his/her counsel to decide if it's the right choice for you, and use it under care of the physician.

But at some point you will have to learn to eat at maintenance without the use of aids, so make sure that is your ultimate goal. Don't look at weight management as something that has a "Whew, I'm glad that's over" point, or you'll likely end up right back where you started.
  • Chief_Rocka
    Chief_Rocka Posts: 4,710 Member
    Options
    They won't do anything good or bad for the most part.
  • WendyTerry420
    WendyTerry420 Posts: 13,274 Member
    Options
    If you are considering a weight loss aid, talk to your doctor. Use his/her counsel to decide if it's the right choice for you, and use it under care of the physician.