Crockpot - cooking for one

Options
loserbaby84
loserbaby84 Posts: 241 Member
I live alone and own a crockpot. My parents thought I'd actually use the thing ... as a novice cook I don't usually try things outta the norm for fear of failure, loss of time and not to mentioned unedible food!!

Hoping someone would be nice enough to share some tips and/or recipes with me. Keep in mind I'm the only one in my household so portions need to be small or product must be freezer friendly!

Also, typically low maintenance .. so, if possible "from frozen" recipes highly encouraged annndd if I can put it on low when I leave to go to work to come home to a nice dinner that would be a bonus too!!

Cheers :)

Replies

• ktwest2107
    ktwest2107 Posts: 124 Member
    Options
    There are alot of really great recipes for the crockpot. Look at gourmetpantry.com and skinnytaste.com. You can always half the recipes if you don't want to freeze them :)
  • carolerosenthal
    Options
    Hi! I just had lapband surgery so I can't eat this yet, but my husband loves this. It is easily freezable (get containers @ Dollar Tree).

2-3 lbs. skinless, boneless chicken thighs
    1 evelope dry onion soup
    1 can whole cranberry sauce
    1 bottle Lite Catalina dressing

1 Reynolds Crock pot liner

Put liner in and then put in ingredients in this order

Cleaned chicken
    onion soup (evenly poured over chicken)
    Cranberry Sauce - break up as putting it in
    Dressing - pour over entire food

Cook 2-3 hours on low.

7-8 points on Weight Watchers

Can do the same w/legs - and can make Hawaain Chix - only substitute canned yams (sweet potatoes - drained)
    & chunk pineapple (drained-own juice)
    Cook about 3-4 hours)

Hope this helps.
  • 75Juniper
    75Juniper Posts: 376
    Options
    I don't have any crockpot specific recipes, but some things I've made that 1) cook up well in the crockpot and 2) freeze well are:

Chili