New to lifting...

Options
Hi everyone!
I have been advised to start lifting - I currently do quite a bit of cardio (running and swimming 4 times a week) and Pilates once every week, but have been told that lifting is the way forward for me to lose these last stubborn 15lbs or so!?
The book 'New Rules of Lifting For Women' is SUPER expensive to get shipped to the UK so it's not on my list of resources, but can anyone help me with a start programme or point me in the right direction to any good starter resources?
I am a complete newbie using gym machines and weights so will need a lot of help haha!
Thanks in advance :)

Replies

• Hendrix7
    Hendrix7 Posts: 1,903 Member
    Options
    The book 'New Rules of Lifting For Women' is SUPER expensive to get shipped to the UK so it's not on my list of resources

it's £10 on amazon.co.uk?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/1583333398/ref=dp_olp_used_mbc?ie=UTF8&condition=used

Everyone will recommend that or

http://stronglifts.com/ or

5/3/1

http://www.flexcart.com/members/elitefts/default.asp?pid=2976
  • SpecialSundae
    SpecialSundae Posts: 795 Member
    Options
    I'm new to lifting too. Is there a group of support for new lifters?
  • beckarini
    beckarini Posts: 78 Member
    Options
    The book 'New Rules of Lifting For Women' is SUPER expensive to get shipped to the UK so it's not on my list of resources

it's £10 on amazon.co.uk?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/1583333398/ref=dp_olp_used_mbc?ie=UTF8&condition=used

Everyone will recommend that or

http://stronglifts.com/ or

5/3/1

http://www.flexcart.com/members/elitefts/default.asp?pid=2976

I've clearly been looking in the wrong places! Thanks :)
  • Lmezz11
    Lmezz11 Posts: 619 Member
    Options
    This may sounds ridiculous but does "New Rules of Lifting for Women' include diagrams for proper form?
  • punkin_p
    Options