Track fruits and veggies or not?

Options
I'm new to actually using MFP app, and was kind of wondering what the idea was about recording fruits and veggies? I'm mostly getting this from the new WW points system and that they have fruits and veggies as "free" food, so I was thinking if it is necessary for me to track these items? I am drinking a green monster smoothie for breakfast and using almond milk the whole thing is about 60 cal if I am NOT counting the spinach, banana, and strawberries (or whatever other fruit). Any opinions? That would be awesome! Also, I'm new so I need friends : )

Replies

• xsmilexforxmex
    xsmilexforxmex Posts: 1,216 Member
    Options
    I log everything I eat bc MFP is based off a calorie count not a points system. WW helps you to eat healthier by points, MFP helps by forcing you to eat more lower calorie foods or less bad foods to stay in your goal. Good luck!
  • Lyadeia
    Lyadeia Posts: 4,603 Member
    Options
    If it has calories, you should log it.
  • ferrytrip
    ferrytrip Posts: 497 Member
    Options
    If you eat it or drink it - log it. Some times logging fruit & veg can be hard as its not as easy to find in the database
  • wisteri
    wisteri Posts: 14
    Options
    I've never done WW, but I've used a lot of recipes (theirs or by members) that I found to be both tasty and have sensible substitutions. I only recently learned that they don't count fruits or veggies in their point system at all which I find interesting. I'm guessing this is to encourage you to eat the "freebies" when you're feeling hungry? I kind of like this idea because it's something I struggle with. I eat a lot more of them now, but that's not saying much considered how few I ate before.