Options
Thoughts? Anyone? Go!

Replies

• danibarro
    Options
    Are you considering doing it?
  • 55AngelH55
    Options
    A friend of mine has lost 20 lb in 2 weeks on it. I've got a wedding coming up in 24 days. I have been exercising daily and eating right patiently for the last 2 months, and lost 3 lb. So... yea. I'm considering it. lol I wanted to lose 30 lb for the wedding... so that's 27 to go.
  • ILiftHeavyAcrylics
    ILiftHeavyAcrylics Posts: 27,732 Member
    Options
    Don't do it. My husband's whole family did it and it didn't turn out well. They all lost a lot of weight initially but they all gained it back with interest. It also does bad things to metabolism. PM me if you want details.

ETA: Of the 4 women who did it, 3 of them experienced serious hair loss, as in chunks of hair falling out. That's not something you want on your wedding day, I wouldn't think.
  • Yanicka1
    Yanicka1 Posts: 4,564 Member
    Options
    Don't do it.....it is starvation. Do it the right way instead.
  • quirkytizzy
    quirkytizzy Posts: 4,052 Member
    Options
    Isn't this the diet where you eat 500 calories a day (which is several hundred below clinical starvation levels) and shoot yourself up with some kind of hormone?

Squicky.
  • ILiftHeavyAcrylics
    ILiftHeavyAcrylics Posts: 27,732 Member
    Options
    Isn't this the diet where you eat 500 calories a day (which is several hundred below clinical starvation levels) and shoot yourself up with some kind of hormone?

Squicky.

Yup that's it.
  • psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,411 MFP Moderator
    Options
    Dear Posters,

MyFitnessPal strongly recommends that our users follow the calorie guidelines automatically assigned by our site, unless they are under the direct supervision of a doctor. We are currently reviewing the medical literature on the HCG/500 calorie diet and reserve the right to moderate against discussions of this diet at any time in the future.