What should I follow, MFP or TDEE?

Options
MFP allots me, at 5'8, 27 years old and 338.8lbs 1910 calories (actually it should be a little lower since it was calculated at my previous weight of 340.6) calories a day to lose 2 pounds per week. I don't exercise. So far just by following MFP I've lost 6lbs.

Using Women: BMR = 655 + ( 4.35 x weight in pounds ) + ( 4.7 x height in inches ) - ( 4.7 x age in years )
x 1.2 for sedentary activity level I get a TDEE of 2785. With a 25% reduction of 696 calories, that gives me 2088. What would eating the 2088 do for me?

I'm new to this, obviously, so be please explain your answer. Also, if I were to exercise, could I eat back the calories no matter if I was using MFP or TDEE if I so chose?

Edited to add, thank you! Oops, also put in wrong TDEE

Replies

• kerrbear20
    kerrbear20 Posts: 20 Member
    Options
    Bump
  • Abi_bug04
    Abi_bug04 Posts: 220
    Options
  • 30Purple
    30Purple Posts: 252 Member
    Options
    Do you feel hungry at the MFP level of calories? If not, I wouldn't go up. You ARE losing. :)
  • MightyDomo
    MightyDomo Posts: 1,265 Member
    Options
    BMR is the lowest you should consume while your TDEE - X% is what you should regularly consume with your current activity level to lose weight at around 2lbs a week I believe... but I am absolutely no expert.
  • maab12
    maab12 Posts: 65 Member
    Options
    at 345.4 and 5.7 im given 2150 a day to eat i would follow MFP
  • DanaDark
    DanaDark Posts: 2,187 Member
    Options
    You did your math wrong.

Your BMR is 2320... your TDEE is 2785 roughly.

Doing TDEE - 25% is about 2000 calories. VERY close to the 1910 MFP gave you.

When you exercise, eat back only half the calories. This helps offset issues with accuracy.
  • eyeshuh
    eyeshuh Posts: 333
    Options