I need cheap running shoes, any suggestions?

Options
I'm a college kid and I recently bought a pair of tennis shoes but I realized that they are a half size to small so my toes press up against the front. So I'm looking for new ones but I have a limited budget. I'm training for a half marathon and want one that is well built and of good quality so I don’t have problems throughout my training process. I was wondering if anyone knows any sites/stores that have well built shoes for a low price. Also what are the best brands for running shoes? I'm kind of new to this whole half marathon thing.

Replies

• Markus_7
    Markus_7 Posts: 165 Member
    Options
    try ross or marshalls, or an outlet store (nike, adidas)...love my asics gel nimbus but more expensive. good luck!
  • aswearingen22
    aswearingen22 Posts: 271 Member
    Options
    The most important thing a runner needs is good shoes fitted just for them. Here's my advice.

1. go to a running store (not the big chain sporting good stores but a specialty running store), and have them evaluate you and figure out which shoes you need.
    2. tell them your budget, sometimes they'll have prior years models on clearance.
    3. if they still don't have the shoe you want in your budget, try searching for older models of that shoe online. Check out places like 6pm.com for clearance shoes in that brand/model.

Seriously, don't skimp on the shoes, your likelihood of injury increases with the wrong shoes.
  • mamagooskie
    mamagooskie Posts: 2,964 Member
    Options
    I agree don't skimp on runners especially if you plan on running long distances.
  • sally_jeffswife
    sally_jeffswife Posts: 766 Member
    Options
    try fleet farm, sometimes they have good deals on nice brand shoes. You can find sketchers there sometimes at good prices.
  • shrinkingsusie
    shrinkingsusie Posts: 40 Member
    Options
    Kohls has Aisics.
  • xprettyreckless
    xprettyreckless Posts: 297 Member
    Options