Calorie intake and burn. Am I doing this right?

Options
I currently have a 1,200 calories a day intake. When I work out, I typically burn anywhere from 258-458 calories (Which is 6 days a week). 3 days a week I do the harder workout and the other 3 days are less intensive. I'm just wanting to make sure that I am still being healthy enough while I'm trying to lose weight. I try to eat right, so that isn't really the issue I'm concerned with as much as burning too many calories and not eating them back if I need to. I don't know if this info helps, but I weigh 122 lbs and I'm 5'1". I'm planning to lose around 10-15 lbs. Sorry if this sounds stupid, I'm just new to this and thought it might be good to just make sure I'm doing things correctly. If I forgot to include anything let me know. Thanks for all your help in advance!

Replies

• AmyRhubarb
    AmyRhubarb Posts: 6,890 Member
    Options
    You need to eat them back. MFP is set up so that your daily calorie goal already has you at a deficit, so if you didn't do any exercise at all, but ate to the goal, you'd lose weight. That's why when you log your exercise calories, it gives you more cals for the day - otherwise you are creating an even larger deficit, which is no bueno.

Personally, I found the 1200 goal to be too low anyway. Most of us have a BMR higher than 1200 - if my coma calories are over 1200, shouldn't I eat at least that much and more if I'm out of bed, moving through my day, and exercising on top of that? :smile:

Great info here: http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/654536-in-place-of-a-road-map-2-0-revised-7-2-12

I reset my calorie goals using the tools in that thread and am having great success, losing the fat and inches consistently, and fueling my body well. Stick to the 1200 if you want, but eat those exercise cals back - your body needs that fuel.
  • las07002
    Options