Do men really burn that many more calories than women?

Options
I discovered online calorie burn calculators based on heart rate the other day, and was happy to see that it was right on target with my Polar FT4.

I started playing around with the numbers to see how many calories I could burn in an hour, and as a 49 yo female, 196 lbs, at my max HR of 174, for one hour, the most I could burn is 714 calories.

Interestingly, MFP gives me around that amount for a 1 hour of Moderate Cycling, 12-14 MPH. My average HR is no where near that when I am on a moderate bike ride, so where MFP gets those numbers, I haven't a clue. But I digress.

Out of curiosity, I changed it from female to male to see if there was a difference.

I was shocked to see 1179 calories. And only 714 for women??

I assume that the difference is due to muscle mass, but that is just crazy!

I understand that the online calculators are only giving an approximate guideline, and can't give you exact numbers, but does this large of a difference between genders sound right?

So not fair! I really need to build some muscles!

Replies

• SWEETS1234
    SWEETS1234 Posts: 243 Member
    Options
    I know it's crazy. If your female you have to work harder to burn more but men typical consume more as well.
  • starrchiild
    starrchiild Posts: 38 Member
    Options
    It's muscle mass. The bigger the engine the more fuel you need....

not that I have a powerful engine yet.....yet
  • BackTatJIM
    BackTatJIM Posts: 1,140 Member
    Options
    I know it's crazy. If your female you have to work harder to burn more but men typical consume more as well.

you have to work harder??? that makes sense....not ;-)
  • BenderFitness
    Options
    It's proportional to the muscle mass, and body fat percentage. It definitely varies.
  • DebbieLyn63
    DebbieLyn63 Posts: 2,650 Member
    Options
    So we have to shave our legs AND workout longer to burn the same calories? I so should have been a dude. :grumble: