Full body training vs Split muscle training

Options
Hi Everyone

I am new to weight training and would like some advice. Is it better to do split muscle training and focus on a specific muscle group per workout or to do a full body routine?

My goals are to lose weight, tone/sculpt muscle and build A LITTLE bit of muscle as well.
I have a bowflex home gym to use if that makes a difference.

What would work best for me?

Replies

• Paulbp4
    Paulbp4 Posts: 59 Member
    Options
    Hi and welcome!

There are more than enough well informed people (and women) on here who can probably point you to good routines or programs but to answer your question a full body routine is typically better for a beginner and working more muscles at once typically increases the metabolic benefits you receive.
  • DanaDark
    DanaDark Posts: 2,187 Member
    Options
    Compound lifts tend to give the best results. From there, you can use isolation lifts to target areas you specifically want larger.
  • trelm249
    trelm249 Posts: 777 Member
    Options
    For a beginner, stick with full body focused on compound moves.
  • SomeoneSomeplace
    SomeoneSomeplace Posts: 1,094 Member
    Options
    Bumping BC I'm curious too...I'm seeing my trainer for the first time today, I will also come back here and pass along what he says as we have similar goals!
  • BellaFe
    BellaFe Posts: 323
    Options

A lot of people say this. My question is why do a lot of people say this?
  • Armani0434
    Armani0434 Posts: 50 Member
    Options
    What are compound moves?
  • BusyRaeNOTBusty
    BusyRaeNOTBusty Posts: 7,166 Member
    Options

Best use of your time. It's important to develop a good strength over your whole body before you worry about targeting individual things. It also helps prevent favoring one muscle over the other (dude with big biceps and no triceps, or dudes that never work legs).

Long but good: