Running shoe advice (high arches/underpronates)

Options
Hi there! I'm a beginning runner using the Couch to 5K program. I did it back in college and it works great. I've been encountering some problems with my feet this time around.

I have high arches and underpronate a lot. The wear on my shoes is on the outside of the forefoot. I went to a store where they watched me run and analyzed my foot (this was a couple months ago when I first started (June-ish), but I didn't get serious until December) and my shoes are Asics Gel-Cumulus 13. My feet are sore on the outside of the forefoot, but not enough to stop running (I run every other day to give my body time to recover since I am new at this again). Back in the summer when I attempted to run the first time, I had the wrong shoes and really hurt the outside of my foot so much I had to take 2 weeks off...which turned into 6 months. Also, I'm a heavy runner (right now at least) at 192 lbs.

So my question is for the high arches/underpronaters of MFP/ people who really know running:
What shoes do you like to wear and give you that cushion that the forefoot needs? Is there a certain brand that you like better than the others?

I'm planning to find a good running store in February (I'm moving to a new state this week, yay) to try some shoes out to find some better support for my foot.

Thanks! :flowerforyou:

Replies

• marathon_mama
    marathon_mama Posts: 150 Member
    Options
    Go with mizuno. Their website has a great shoe finder too.
  • SloRunner25
    SloRunner25 Posts: 89 Member
    Options
    Looking at it now. Thanks! I haven't heard of mizuno.
  • bpotts44
    bpotts44 Posts: 1,066 Member
    Options
    If you're just starting I'd go with one of the minimalist shoes. Brooks pure, altra, merrell barefoot, vibram five fingers. Wish I had done it years ago.
  • aprilcjohnson75
    Options