Barefoot running

Options
Hello,
I have been running at least three times a week for a few months now and have been training for the 5K distance. I like my running shoes and all, but have been wondering about barefoot running (actually about barefoot running shoes, like the Vibram Fivefingers). Has anyone out there tried them? Any real-life experience?
I do have a couple of friends who swear by them, but I am interested in getting more feedback.
Thank you!
Luci

Replies

• courtney_love2001
    courtney_love2001 Posts: 1,468 Member
    Options
    Bump b/c I wanna know this too!
  • bigdawg62
    bigdawg62 Posts: 127 Member
    Options
    Every time I try it I get really bad achilles tendonitis. It is definately not for everyone. It is also tough to run barefoot in New England in the winter so why even bother.
  • hill242
    hill242 Posts: 412 Member
    Options
    Check out this well-written and researched article.

http://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/2009/11/04/barefoot-running-the-great-debate/

I would like to try the Nike Free shoe myself.
  • pandollu
    pandollu Posts: 4
    Options
    Thank you all for the insight, and for the wonderful article link!
    Now I know what to ask for my birthday gift!!! I'll let you know soon how my Vibram Fivefingers are treating me!
    Cheers - Luci
  • LittleSpy
    LittleSpy Posts: 6,754 Member
    Options
    I recently discovered barefoot running & have been researching it for a little while now. I tried running barefoot for the first time last night and LOVED it.