Any asthmatic sportspeople?

Options
Hello! I've been running on and off for a few years and got back into it recently. I also swim a lot and have just started riding a bike again after cleaning years of dust off it!
My barrier seems to be the asthma. It pees me right off to have to take more medication than usual because I'm running/ swimming/ bike riding. I'm not too overweight anymore and I'm quite fit but my lungs just don't seem to get it! Does anyone know of any documentaries on this problem? I can't find any that aren't just 'You can do it!' type things. I need some guidance .
When I think I used to use the asthma as a kid to get out of doing exercise!!!!! Dammit!!!

Replies

• SRH7
    SRH7 Posts: 2,037 Member
    Options
    I'd be interested to see what people say.

I've found since starting running I'm using my reliever inhaler (Ventolin) far more. As a result my steroid inhaler dose (Qvar) has been doubled by my GP practice nurse and I'm also on a tablet (Singulair). I've also discussed a different inhaler with her (she calls it a Turbohaler - I think it has both steroid and reliever in, but I need to do some research). The plan is to increase my preventative meds so that I can reduce the reliever meds. The cold weather doesn't help either, as it really sets my wheezing off, so I suspect I won't really be able to tell the difference until the weather warms up a bit.
  • mandipandi75
    mandipandi75 Posts: 6,035 Member
    Options
    Hello! I've been running on and off for a few years and got back into it recently. I also swim a lot and have just started riding a bike again after cleaning years of dust off it!