hungry after 4 hours!!

Options
So I have been working closely with my nutritionist on getting used to 3 square meals a day. hard work but well worth it.
I have noticed that after about 3 hours i start getting 'munchy' and anfter about 4 and a half ish i get really hungry! and eating anything that close to a meal usually makes my stomach really upset (given the current issues and what not) and i have to wait until dinner time to eat to 'be ok'
does this happen to anyone else? any suggestions??

Replies

• aymetcalf
    aymetcalf Posts: 597 Member
    Options
    I'm not an expert, so I would discuss this with your nutritionist.... but make sure you have a lot of fiber in your diet, it keeps you feeling fuller. Also drink lots and lots of water, it helps with the muchies. Good Luck! :flowerforyou:
  • DeathIsMyGift
    DeathIsMyGift Posts: 434 Member
    Options
    I'm not an expert either but if you are getting hungy---eat. Even if it's a banana or a handful of nuts. Something.
  • Holton
    Holton Posts: 1,018
    Options
    Why not eat 6 meals a day rather than the 3 you are referring too? It is known to be healthier to eat smaller portions, but more frequently, spreading out your calories and thus you energy. Hunger shouldn't be an issue, so I hope you will discuss this with your nutritionist.
  • mabear74
    mabear74 Posts: 248
    Options
    Are you snacking at all in between the meals? It is usually recommended that you eat up too 6 times a day, whether it be 3 meals and snacks, or 6 "mini" meals or some variation there of.
  • krislew
    krislew Posts: 46 Member
    Options
    I have always heard that it takes 4 hours for you stomach to empty after eating a meal...so to answer your question I looked it up on Google and found this:

How long does it take your stomach to empty?

If all you ate was melon, about 10 minutes.
    Most raw fruits take 30 minutes.
    Bananas take one hour.
    Starches take at least an hour or two.